top of page
Search
  • rmarshall500

More signs of spring!


1- The mini irises have popped up seemingly overnight.


2- One crocus this year. I guess the squirrels were busy this winter.

Note from Robbie: I can't be sure this always works but it appears to. When I plant my tulip bulbs, I put red pepper flakes in the holes and then sprinkle on top of the mulch. The squirrels don't seem as inclined to pursue digging them up. However, I lost most of my frou frou tulips in the spring, once they started to come up or after they bloomed, to chipmunks, who don't seem to care about red pepper. Now I am sprinkling rodent repellent and they have temporarily ceased digging. Bottom line, if I lose the replacement tulips this year, I will resort to something they dislike - save time, $, and hand wringing.


3-The hens and chicks survived. Of course, they are supposed to do that. They are hardy in zones 3-8 and part of the stonecrop family. Nice little plants when tucked into rock crevices.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page